+234 800 0000 000

The National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education, (NMEC) is the statutory Federal Government parastatal under the Federal Ministry of Education, established by Decree N0. 17 of June 26, 1990 and took off on July 5, 1991. The Commission has its co-operate Headquarters in Abuja and is headed by an Executive Secretary.

The Commission has six zonal offices in each of the six geopolitical zones of the country; North-East - Bauchi; North West - Katsina; North Central - Minna; South West - Ibadan; South South - Benin; South East - Owerri and a National Documentation Centre for Adult Education located in Kano, which was established to train middle and lower level adult personnel in the country and to develop and produce teaching and learning materials in literacy and Non- Formal Education.

The Commission supervises and supports the activities of State Agencies for Adult and Non-Formal Education in the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

In addition to its Kano Centre, the Commission also oversees and supports state NFE Training Institutes at Bauchi, Gombe, Makurdi, Uyo, Maiduguri and Jos including centre for literacy and development for Africa. This is in addition to its superintendence role on all Non-governmental Organisations involved in Literacy and NFE provision in the country.

Function of the Commission

  • Works in collaboration with all concerned to eradicate illiteracy in Nigeria;
  • Design and promote strategies and programmes for the conduct and implementation of National Mass Literacy Campaign in consultation with appropriate agencies of the Federal and State Governments, the universities and Non Governmental Agencies;
  • Monitor and coordinate activities relating to the National Mass Literacy Campaign in order to ensure the rapid and successful eradication of illiteracy in Nigeria;
  • Monitor and coordinate the implementation of all activities for the eradication of illiteracy in Africa and ensure the collection and dissemination of information on the implementation;
  • Develop and disseminate teaching materials in distant education programmes aimed at primary school leavers as well as Mass Literacy adult and non-formal education personnel;

The Four Main Programmes of the Commission

The Commission has four main programmes: Basic Literacy, Post Literacy, and Continuing Education and Vocational Education

  • Basic Literacy (equivalence of pry 1-3) Basic Literacy is the Literacy programme organised for beginners or for people considered to be stark illiterates; the people that have never been to school before;
  • Post Literacy (equivalence of pry 4-6) it is reading, writing and computing for people that have got the basic rudiment of computing and writing but want to learn more. The objectives of Post Literacy is to assist learners master social lives;
  • Continuing Education/Extra Mural Studies (equivalence of JSS 1-3 and above).It is an educational programme organised for learners that would want to sit for external examination like JSSCE or SSCE. The objectives of this programme is to assist learners catch up and complete the Junior /Senior Secondary School Examination and develop themselves to meet the changing society and be able to make meaningful career choices;
  • Vocational Education: The introduction of the integrated approach to meaningful literacy activities is a major break - through mass literacy delivery. This programme provides vocational courses for the benefits of early school leavers who are assisted to become more self-reliant in different artisan trades;